Barbara Swearengen Ware Resignation Letter

Posted: June 22, 2011 in Nitegator

June 22, 2011

VIA HAND DELIVERY
Councilman Myron Lowery
Chairman
Memphis City Council
125 North Main Street
Suite 514
Memphis, TN 38103

Dear Myron:

            I have served faithfully on the Memphis City Council as Councilwoman for District 7 since December, 1994. I believe that my service and dedication to the citizens of this City has made a positive difference in their lives. The past several months have been very difficult for me personally as I have struggled with a prolonged illness, numerous health challenges and legal issues. These issues necessitated that I remove myself from many activities and caused of which I care so deeply.

            God has blessed me tremendously, however, I am still under the doctor’s care and, despite my on-going optimism, it appears that my health and family concerns will make a return to the Memphis City Council not advisable. Therefore, I have concluded that it is in the best interest of my family, the citizens of District 7 and the City of Memphis for me to retire.

I have spent many weeks of prayerful consideration and serious contemplation concerning this very important decision, and have decided to retire from my position as a member of the Memphis City Council effective Wednesday, June 22, 2011. This decision was not made lightly and I have spent many restless nights conderdering my options.

The decision to retire and leave my constituents, colleagues and the other hard working and dedicated City employees is heart wrenching, but I sincerely believe it is the right thing to do. This is the time to retire, spend more time with my family and in the ministry with my husband who is also my pastor. My retirement will allow my seat to be filled temporarily by appointment by the Memphis City Council and ultimately by the voters of District 7 in the next election on October 6, 2011.

My constituents are wonderful, hard working people and I have fulfilled my commitment to be their voice on the Memphis City Council. I have worked very hard to provide informed and thoughtful leadership during my tenure and have thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity to serve the citizens of District 7 and the City of Memphis.

            I appreciate the enormous expressions of support I have received from the community at large and from some of my colleagues. I will be forever grateful and indebted to the citizens of the great city for giving me the opportunity to serve.

It has been a blessing, privilege and an honor to have served with you locally and on a national level.  I will be praying for you, the members of the Memphis City Council and the staff.  I trust you will also keep me in your prayers.

God Bless you and the City of Memphis, in all of your future endeavors.

Sincerely

Barbara Swearengen Ware

 

cc: Mayor A. C. Wharton
       Members of the Memphis City Council

Ware Resignation Letter PDF

Follow Nitegator on Twitter

Click Links For More Postings:
Memphis Employment Wage Estimates
Memphis City School Charter (1869 TN Private Acts Chapter 30)
Shelby County’s New Mayor Joe Ford
Tennessee Passes New Immigration Law,
Following Arizona’s Law

Bill Gates Donates $90 Million To MCS

 

Leave a Reply

